State Support for the U.S. National Day for the Victims of Communism

On November 7, 2019, Victims of Communism Memorial Foundation Executive Director Marion Smith accompanied dissidents from Poland, Venezuela, Cuba, Vietnam, and North Korea to the White House where President Trump declared an official day commemorating victims of communism.

President Trump established the first-ever U.S. National Day for the Victims of Communism in 2017 for the Centennial of the Bolshevik Revolution. Many States are following suit by establishing November 7 as the Memorial Day for the Victims of Communism, Virginia being the first state to do so in 2018.

States with VOC legislation

Alabama – Established in 2019
Arizona – Passed in House
Arkansas – Established in 2019
Idaho – Passed by House and Senate in 2020
Illinois – Adopted by the House in 2020
Missouri – Passed in the House in 2019
Pennsylvania – Passed in the House in 2019
South Carolina – Introduced in the House
Texas – Passed in the Senate
Utah – Established in 2019
Virginia – Established in 2018