Send Us A Message
(202) 629-9500
Victims of Communism Memorial Foundation
900 15th Street NW
Washington, D.C. 20005

Congressional Caucus


In November of 2017, Reps. Marcy Kaptur (D-OH), Dan Lipinski (D-IL), Dennis Ross (R-FL), and Chris Smith (R-NJ) announced the formation of the bipartisan Victims of Communism Caucus for the 115th Congress (2017-2019). It was launched for the Centennial commemoration of the Bolshevik Revolution.

The Caucus focuses on commemorating the 100 million victims of communism who perished in the 20th century, and on showing the impact of the communist legacy in former captive nations. It also focuses on the current international impact of the five existing communist regimes of China, Cuba, Laos, North Korea, and Vietnam.

In recent years, the Caucus has championed the designation of the annual Victims of Communism Memorial Day. In 2019, Rep. Dan Lipinski, Co-Chair of the Victims of Communism Caucus, introduced a House resolution expressing support for the designation, listing the crimes committed by communist regimes (which have murdered 100 million people), condemning the destructive effects of Marxism, and calling on the President to issue a yearly proclamation declaring November 7th as National Day for the Victims of Communism. Similar resolutions have now been passed or introduced in nine states (Alabama, Arkansas, Illinois, Missouri, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Texas, Utah, and Virginia).

Founding Caucus Members

Current Caucus Members

Issue Areas

Signature Legislation Introduced by Caucus Members

Signature Events